PARALLEL PROJECT: Diary without words cont… March

PARALLEL PROJECT : Diary without words cont… March

This is the final post concerning the Diary. It has been the most interesting exercise for me and I feel has taught me more about abstraction than much of the research. March entries for the Diary are not complete because of the creative energy and focus that was going into my other work. I was working on my final assignment pieces which, as you can read in my posts, was all about depicting ‘thought’. This proved to be very intense creative and mental work and I noticed that the diary entries consequently stopped. As I thought about this, I realized another aspect of abstraction which is the almost obsessive nature of it. The work that I was doing for the assignment required total focus in order to sift through layers of thought. Sometimes most of the day was spent in just thinking and waiting for the right mark. Exhausting work! There was just nothing left for the Diary. I didn’t mind about that as it taught me more about the journey I was on. However, the daily entries into a visual diary are so valuable that I want to start it up again for my own development.

 

About pbfarrar

I am an Australian living permanently in England. I have recently retired from the position of Principal of an independent school and have taken up the study of Fine Art with the OCA.
This entry was posted in Parallel project. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

