PARALLEL PROJECT: exploring line

PARALLEL PROJECT

Searching for a new language

As I began my exploration into abstraction for the parallel project, it became clear that this would include finding a new language. When I began abstracting my feelings in the ‘diary without words’, it was like being in a foreign country without any language to communicate with. When the representation of the external world is removed, there has to be a new language to try to convey meaning. Or at least, for me at this stage in my work there needs to be. I’m not at all sure that this will always be the case. I think meaning in an image can come in so many ways and that is the fascination of this exploration at the moment.

Anyhow, lots of still unanswered questions!

In the experimentation to find new ways of working, I started with line. This will be an ongoing investigation. Using only line, I let it move through a long concertina book to see where it would lead.

Looking at it now, I can see the possibilities. My research into the work of Christine Hiebert, Pierrette Block and Richard Tuttle, opened up the possibilities of line. Each of these artists explored line in new ways. In describing her ‘tape’ work, Christine Hiebert writes in talking about her process: “the artist has felt her way across the surface.” I tried to do this, letting the tool ‘feel its way across the surface of the paper.’ New marks began to emerge and I have continued to explore this in the Diary.

About pbfarrar

I am an Australian living permanently in England. I have recently retired from the position of Principal of an independent school and have taken up the study of Fine Art with the OCA.
This entry was posted in Parallel project. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

