Reflection: Assignment 4

REFLECTION: Assignment 4

Assignment 4 has been a significant marker in my creative journey so far. It has proved to be much more than simply producing a piece of work to encapsulate a unit of work. The work I produced for assignment 4 represents a deeper understanding of my personal interests and shows the direction which I feel my work may go in.

This has come about for two reasons I think. Firstly, I’ve been searching to clarify my thoughts on the parallel project. I wanted this project to be deeply embedded in what I was doing, how I was thinking, what I was seeing and to be perfectly frank, to reflect a constructive and enriching use of my time. I want the project to be ongoing, to be almost a starting point for me and not just a one-off area of study. The second reason and the most important is that I’ve been spending a lot of my time during Part 4 reading and researching. (See reading post) I have gained a huge amount from the reading, much more than I would have imagined and it has resulted in a much clearer perspective on what I want to do as an artist.

Another aspect which I feel is very significant for the work I produced for Assignment 4 is the open-ended, very thought-provoking construction of this part of the course. On the surface, Part 4 looked quite simple and straightforward. But I found that each time I felt to be following along a certain track, a research area would suddenly be presented which would reveal a whole new world of discovery, often completely unrelated to what I was thinking. This was particularly apparent in the projects on installation. The research areas were so interesting that I found myself doing further exploration and opening new pathways.

The final assignment 4 work has ended up with several two-dimensional pieces of work as well as the site-specific response. I may be totally off track here in regard to installation but I know that for me, these drawings represent my involvement and connection with the bamboo planting area which goes far beyond simply reproducing a visual response. I was deeply affected by my research into the work of Emily Kame Kngwarreye – I felt her cultural connection with the land gave rise to the paintings she produced – she was in the paintings in such a way that the images took on an installation aspect beyond the two-dimensional surface. I experienced a similar connection in the bamboo planting when the silence and intensely private space in the centre took on a sacredness which was equivalent to a cathedral experience. The drawings became strongly gestural and as I moved through them, I found to be moving further into abstract responses. I needed to stop because of time restraints but I know that I could have gone on and on. The bamboo was continually all around me as I drew and this became the installation – I was working within a space. I hope the viewer of the drawings is able to enter that same space “…where you don’t know where you are and you have to learn how to imaginatively put it together.” Robert Storr.

About pbfarrar

I am an Australian living permanently in England. I have recently retired from the position of Principal of an independent school and have taken up the study of Fine Art with the OCA.
This entry was posted in Part 4, Research & Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

