REFLECTION: Part 3-project 4 An Emotional Response

This was a challenging but very enjoyable exercise for me! I’m interested in exploring the emotional dimension of an image and looking beyond what the eye is seeing. This exercise forced me to experiment to find out what can happen to an image when the artist is feeling a particular emotional response.

To what extent did your emotional and physical responses fuse?

I found myself able to respond physically and emotionally from the start with those statements which resonated with me. When the statements were read out I took a moment to allow the emotional response to happen and it became like going into a ‘zone’. I could feel the emotional response almost take control and the marks and choices of media and colour flow from this. I lost a sense of place and time.

Where this was not so apparent was with the statements which needed me to analyse them. As soon as my mind took over and I began reasoning through the emotional content of the statement I found that the feeling in my hand and arm lost energy and the resulting marks were confused and directionless. I suppose here the emotional and the physical were separated.

One of the challenges which I hadn’t expected was with the stationary position of the model. The pose of the model sitting quietly reading throughout, in many cases was totally opposite to the emotional content of the statements and this made the effectiveness of the mark making more necessary. I could receive no assistance by changing the pose. Interestingly, as I progressed through the exercise, the pose of the model seemed to become less and less important. I lost all interest in how accurately  I was drawing the figure, the image floated across the page in many instances, compositional details were lost as I concentrated on my emotions .

About pbfarrar

I am an Australian living permanently in England. I have recently retired from the position of Principal of an independent school and have taken up the study of Fine Art with the OCA.
This entry was posted in Research & Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

