PART 3: PHYSICALITY AND GESTURE – project 2 mark making cont…..

Experiments with mark making continued…..

This is the second post for this project as I didn’t feel to achieve the degree of freedom in the mark making which I wanted.

Still working from the same still life subject as in the other exercises, I began again with the elongated pencil and a large sheet of paper. This time I made no effort to attempt a particular outcome – the drawing is free and loose, not particularly accurate , just using line.

IMG_3652

I wanted to combine the pencil drawing with colour. As I wrote in the last post, I had experimented with different media and so I used this knowledge before deciding on the right media for this piece. I chose soft pastels for this because I wanted to feel the chalk in my hands. This media is difficult to manage when you have three or four sticks in your fist but I love the feeling of involvement with the media.

I chose four different sets of tones of colour – three or four tones of each. I was familiar with the dark and light areas of the image because of the previous drawings. I worked quickly and in a very different way to my usual approach. The clutch of colours prevented any concentration of detail and so I had to work with broad, strong marks. I feel that this piece is closer to seeing new marks emerge from my work. I love the use of different tones in every mark and was surprised at the depth that can be achieved.

IMG_3653IMG_3654IMG_3655IMG_3660IMG_3661IMG_3662

One of the points arising from my last tutor’s report was. “Some of your drawings lack variations in touch and tone – explore this.” I looked again at the image I’d drawn and at this final stage began to look for this variation in touch and tone. Because I’d been focused on drawing with several chalks at the same time the mark making did lack this variation. So still looking carefully at the still life I went back to see where the variation could happen. I used my fingers and a tissue to blend and soften some areas and I must say that I feel that in the final image this variation has improved the drawing.

IMG_3941

About pbfarrar

I am an Australian living permanently in England. I have recently retired from the position of Principal of an independent school and have taken up the study of Fine Art with the OCA.
This entry was posted in Part 3. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

