Response to Tutor’s Report for Part 2

Response to Tutor’s Report on Part 2

I’m pleased to have made some progress in the area of a more considered approach to the work and in composition. I worked hard on these during this module but can also see that there is much more to do. What I have taken from the tutor’s remarks is that I need to be very focused on what I want the work to communicate and then let the processes etc support that. I take the point that in the work for Part 2 I’m still allowing the processes to dominate which results in the aims of the work not being clear.

This is an interesting one because I’ve often felt that the aims of the work are entirely clear but then I know what I’m thinking. The report agrees that I’m able to communicate my thinking processes through the blog and sketchbooks but this is not carrying through to the assignment pieces. Perhaps I draw back at that point. The key has to be to be able to communicate to others and I need to discover how to do this.

I am very interested in the artists which the report has suggested I look at and I’m sure in exploring some of these I will make some progress in the above area. The drawings of David Bomberg and his pupil, Dennis Creffield, are wonderful and I felt an immediate bond when I saw the powerful effect that they had on me.

St Paul's and River 1945 David Bomberg 1890-1957 Purchased 1975 http://www.tate.org.uk/art/work/T01964

St Paul’s and River 1945 David Bomberg 1890-1957 Purchased 1975 http://www.tate.org.uk/art/work/T01964

Peterborough: Approaching the West Front 1987 Dennis Creffield born 1931 Purchased 1990 - http://www.tate.org.uk/art/work/T05751

Peterborough: Approaching the West Front 1987 Dennis Creffield born 1931 Purchased 1990 – http://www.tate.org.uk/art/work/T05751

Dennis Creffield - Coventry: the old cathedral spire - University of Warwick

Dennis Creffield – Coventry: the old cathedral spire – University of Warwick

 

I loved his phrase, “the spirit in the mass” that is, the animating, inner being of anything as opposed to simply its physical mass. He wrote: “ Drawing flows from beginning to end with one sustained impulse…The approach is through feeling and touch and less by sight…Drawing…reveals the unknown things. Style is ephemeral – Form is eternal.”   …this idea of touch which is mentioned in the tutor report fascinates me and I want to explore this more.

I’m pleased to have been directed to look at Fu Baoshi and Dan Namingha, both new to me. I want to explore these further.

Fu Baoshi 1904 – 1965

Born in Xinyu, Jiangxi province, China…created the “Baoshi Texturing Stroke” depicting the texture if massive mountains and stone cliffs….combination of lines in big brush strokes dipped with light ink.

‘Early Spring’ …a scene where a boat passes by dense, willow twigs. Paints the willow twigs a slight as thin gauze…uses think ink paint to paint the two trunks and light ink for hundreds of thin twigs growing upwards.

Fu Baoshi - Crows on a willow

Fu Baoshi – Crows on a willow

Fu Baoshi

Fu Baoshi

Fu Baoshi

Fu Baoshi

Fu Baoshi - Early Spring

Fu Baoshi – Early Spring

Dan Namingha…1950 Arizona …native American painter and sculptor…spiritual beliefs and symbolism…paints and sculpts the imagery of his people.

Dan Namingha - Tranquility

Dan Namingha – Tranquility

Dan Namingha - Sun rising over the horizon

Dan Namingha – Sun rising over the horizon

Dan Namingha

Dan Namingha

 

Summary of points arising from this assignment:

  • Think about the best way of achieving your objective through the right choice of media
  • I would like more consideration given to the context and balance of space in your drawings
  • Some of your drawings lack variations in touch and tone – explore this.
  • I think the design element of your drawing needs to be expanded and you could consider more abstract approaches.

 

About pbfarrar

I am an Australian living permanently in England. I have recently retired from the position of Principal of an independent school and have taken up the study of Fine Art with the OCA.
This entry was posted in Tutor reports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

