REFLECTION: assessment criteria in Part 2

Reflection of ASSESSMENT CRITERIA in part 2

DEMONSTRATE ADVANCED SKILLS IN DRAWING

I think I have demonstrated competent drawing and visual skills and certainly the experience of drawing at the V&A has helped this. My visual awareness and observational skills continue to improve as I draw continually. In regard to compositional skills, I feel that this unit of work shows improvement thanks to the direction given to me by the tutor. I also have been reading about this subject and so in each piece the compositional aspect has been at the forefront of my thought. I have a lot to learn in this area still and it is not at the point where it is coming naturally but I feel I have made some progress.

 SHOW INDIVIDUALITY AND EXPERIMENTATION IN YOUR DRAWING PRACTICE

Imagination and experimentation have continued to develop in this module. I enjoy this aspect and am continually trying to break through boundaries. I feel that both of these areas are becoming elements of ‘my voice’. In regard to a personal voice, my love of drawing is becoming very strong. Perhaps there is a need to be less experimental and creative and more discerning in areas of composition and structure.

DEMONSTRATE THE ABILITY TO SYNTHESISE KNOWLEDGE, UNDERSTANDING AND YOUR EMERGING PRACTICE

Once again I have made good use of the sketchbooks and am finding more and more that I’m wanting to use them as a tools and not just to present work. I want to do more of this. It’s always important to me that visually the work is presented well and in an orderly way. I think I have experimented more this time in the sketchbooks.

Synthesising knowledge and understanding has been important in this module for me. There are two examples of this – one is the time I’ve spent in really trying to understand and utilize the points about composition made in the last tutor’s report. I feel to have worked carefully through the areas in my piece called Narcissus and even though I find the piece itself very static and lacking energy, I see it as a milestone in my understanding of composition. It was extremely difficult to do but I was pleased with what I learnt. I want now to become so familiar with the elements of composition that I don’t have to think about them and they become natural to me practice.

The second area was the struggle I had to understand the combination of flatness and depth in a painting and to synthesise this in my work. I took a long time to work on this as can be seen in my sketchbooks and it was worth it. This concept has opened up extra dimensions in my own work and brought new understanding to the appreciation of art generally.

CRITICALLY REVIEW THE WORK OF ARTISTS WHO HAVE CONTRIBUTED TO THE DEVELOPMENT OF DRAWING PRACTICE AND RELATE THIS TO YOUR OWN DEVELOPMENT

I’ve continued to visit galleries and review exhibitions. I am very critical of my own work and rarely satisfied with outcomes. There always seems so much to learn. But I feel that a shift is beginning to happen. Even though my own voice is still hidden away I can feel a confidence growing mainly because I’m finding drawing itself to be my main means of expression.

About pbfarrar

I am an Australian living permanently in England. I have recently retired from the position of Principal of an independent school and have taken up the study of Fine Art with the OCA.
This entry was posted in Research & Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

